General

Stress or Procrastination

I am the self proclaimed queen of procrastination.  When googling procrastination there were 26.1 millions results, meaning I am not the only procrastinator out there.

I don’t know why I procrastinate. I don’t even know how many to-do lists I make yet don’t complete.  I found a quote from an article that I think pretty much sums it up:

“Procrastination is not a reflection of your attitude, work ethic, or competence. Procrastination is actually a behavior meant to help us cope with stress. Whatever we are putting off is linked to something that is stressing us. Naturally, if you’re stressed, you want to escape the stressor. So we do what makes sense, we try to avoid the stress and instead seek near-term satisfaction, or at least a distraction and refuge from the stress. It momentarily makes you feel good to avoid the stress.” – https://www.inc.com/thomas-koulopoulos/according-to-science-this-5-second-rule-will-make-.html

The problem is the “near-term satisfaction” doesn’t actually accomplish what needs to be done meaning the stressor doesn’t actually go away.  I need to take a long hard look at myself and figure out what in my life needs to be done, and how to actually accomplish these things to bring more peace, and hopefully less stress to my life.

Leave a Reply

