Health

Health & Fitness

For about the 500th time, I decided that today is “Day 1” of trying to lose the weight.  I was talking to a co-worker about various website we have used over the years and he mentioned Spark People, which I had used several years ago.  Out of curiosity I logged in to my account and saw an about me section and a blog post titled “Day 1” dated July 16, 2012.  Out of curiosity I read what I wrote all those years ago and was shocked – nothing has changed in five years.  Same job, same weight (as in <1 lb difference – I guess it is a positive that I haven’t gained weight), same relationship/kids status, I live in the same house, same ratio of animals (I did lose my 13-year old black lab last year, but have a 2-year old yellow lab now) and even the same hobby.

If I don’t want to look back in another five years and be like – wow – my life is the exact same – I need to do something.  If there was ever a wake-up call to stop being complacent in life, this is it.

About me from 5 years ago (I am now 36 vs 31)

Hello! I am a single 31 year old female living in Illinois. Most of my time is spent either at work or pursuing my favorite pastime – photography.  During the day I have a desk job – with food everywhere and it is very sedentary. During the evening – when I am not taking pictures I am on the computer editing, updating my blog/Flickr/Website accounts or getting ready for a fair or art show. I need to lose weight and get back into shape – for my health and to be a better photographer. The better shape I am the longer and further I can go to get the best images.

My Goals:
I have a lot of weight to lose – over 100 lbs. I am going to take this 28 lbs at a time (10 – 20 – 30 – 40% weight loss).
Starting Weight: 278
Goal 1: 10% or 28 lbs loss or 250 lbs
Goal 2: 20% or 56 lbs loss or 222 lbs
Goal 3: 30% or 84 lbs loss or 194 lbs
Goal 4: 40% or 112 lbs loss or 166 lbs

My Program:
I am going to eat healthy with lots of lean proteins, whole grains, low-fat dairy, fruits and vegetables. I believe doing this is sustainable vs. fad diets.

Personal Information:
I am a 31 years old female from central Illinois – I live on a farm!
I am single, with no kids, but do have a Cat and Dog who are my furry children
I have my BS in Industrial Engineering and my MBA in Marketing and currently work in a Marketing position.
I love photography; it is how I spend most of my spare time.

Blog post from 5 years ago:

I think everyone can relate to this, whether it is I am starting my diet on Monday, January 1 or 2, or after another major event – we have all had our fair share of “Day 1”. My whole life I have been off and on of so many diets, gained and lost so much weight, I have to wonder, will this time be different? Am I in a different place in life where I can stick with it and be successful? In all my years of dieting I have never reached my goal weight, let alone kept it off. I have had way too many battle plans and major events / vacations to lose weight for to count – and I have never been successful. I have to figure out this time – what I have to do and what I have to change about myself to be successful.

Currently I am not quite at my heaviest, but darn close. As of this morning I weighed in at 278. I am a 5’ 8” female with a large frame – so needless to say I am fat. Some same the “F” word is a dirty word, and we should not use it – but come on people – let’s just state the obvious. At 100 lbs overweight, there is no polite way to say it – I am fat.

Why do I want to lose weight – well there are many reasons (besides the obvious health reasons).

  1. Shopping – I am 5’8” and all legs/arms – which means in the world of women’s clothing I need longs (34” inseam).  Have you ever tried to by long or tall length pants or shirts in plus sizes? Levi’s caries longs up to a size 16 – but I you are 18 or larger – forget about it.  This happens all the time.  I would love to have dress pants that are not Old Navy or Lane Bryant that come in my size and length.
  2. Photography – this may seem a bit odd, but climbing up and down stairs, hiking, squatting and getting into different positions to get the best shots is harder the heavier you are.
  3. Social Life – Dating is not fun when you are continually self-conscience of your appearance.  Enough said for this one.

 

Leave a Reply

